Auckland University of Technology

Auckland University of Technology

QS World University Ranking by Subject 2017: Auckland University of Technology(441)

Auckland University of Technology (AUT) (Māori: Te Wānanga Aronui o Tāmaki Makau Rau) is a university in New Zealand. It was formed on 1 January 2000 (1895 originally Auckland Technical School) when the Auckland Institute of Technology was granted university status. Its primary campus is on Wellesley Street in Auckland’s Central business district (CBD). AUT has three secondary campuses: North Shore, South, and the Millennium Institute of Sport and Health (AUT Millennium Campus).

AUT enrolled 28,314 students in 2014, including 2,606 international students from 85 countries, and 1,735 postgraduate students. 87% of students were enrolled in a bachelor’s degree or higher qualification. AUT’s student population is diverse with students having a range of ethnic backgrounds including New Zealand European, Asian, Maori and Pacific Islander. Students also represent a wide age range with 37% of students being over 25. AUT University employed 2,063 full-time equivalent (FTE) staff in 2011, including both administrative and academic staff members.

Data suggests that 91% of AUT’s graduates obtain employment or progress to further study within six months of graduating. In the 2016 QS World University Ranking, AUT was ranked as 441–450. 

Official Website:

This post is also available in: Chinese (Simplified)